Reuse a router …

Reuse a router and turn it into a switch

I have moved into a new flat and at times due to it being in a block of flats the wireless connection is not always working properly due to conflicting channel use. I already optimised this, but I cannot get any further there. Therefore I wired the areas a network connection is required.

Problem: No switch but several spare routers. Could I reuse one of the routers as a switch?

Solution: Yes. Change settings and use it.

In my case I turned a Netgear WGR614 Router into a switch. I served the internet for several different solutions, but the following one worked easily and is well described:

  • http://blog.devilzgsa.com/?p=40 – Thank you very much devilz.
    • uncheck Enable Wireless Access Point 
    • uncheck Allow Broadcast of Name (SSID)
    • uncheck Use Router as a DHCP Server 
  • Netgear webpage

Outstanding question: Is this a sustainable solution – reuse is always good, but what about the power consumption? Shall I rather buy a new PoE (Power over Ethernet)  switch – which will use the power from the router and only if required?

Further research will be required, but for now I am happy to accept the 6W power consumption I found here:

  • http://www.edho.com/power/ … Thanks Edward
    • 6W … means 144W/day; 53kW/ year … with 15 cents  per kW it makes about 8€ per year.
  • The wireless network is disabled in the switch mode – this should consume less power.
  • The adapter may use more power when it is in use with up to 3 devices connected (4th device is the source from the router).
  • The adapter may use less power if no device is used.
This entry was posted in IT and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment