Create a network cable for 1000Mbps/ 1Gbps/ Gigabit Ethernet

I need to set-up a home network. The flat we moved in recently has a media connection ability for each room, but not all rooms are equipped. This meant I had to fill the empty tubes and get the wiring done myself. Two problems:

  1. How long are the tubes … how long does the cable need to be?
  2. The tubes are narrow in diameter and have bends which made it impossible to pull through Ethernet cables with the plug.

Solution:

  • Buy Ethernet cable
  • Buy RJ45 plugs and the related tools
  • Pull cable through
  • Get plug on each end of the cable
  • Job done

Sounds easy, but I wanted to be sure that I do the right thing – so I had the following questions:

  • Which wires are necessary as a minimum to enable a 1000 Mbps network connection.
  • What is the largest length allowed?
  • What is the smallest cable quality?
  • Which plugs need to be used?
  • How should I connect the plugs?
Answers: 
This entry was posted in IT and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment